Mixtape

The third task for the APT module was to create a continuous mix of music that lasted at least 20 minutes and featured at least 8 songs – one of which was an original piece of my own.  The idea is to hear one of my own pieces of music alongside artists I would like to be in the same area as.  As I had used the one song I recorded for PDAR in my samples task, I chose to use the other one I have recorded for this mixtape.  It is an instrumental piece so I included some instrumental tracks in this mix but also included some with vocals.  I didn’t follow a certain BPM or key but instead tried to focus on the mood.  I included various types of artists ranging from full bands, to solo musicians and even a friend of mine who sadly passed away this year.  These are all influential artists to me and so it was the best way to hear my song alongside those, instead of hearing it against songs with the same BPM or key.  In my chosen area of music, that sort of thing is not so important.  It is more about creating the mood and keeping it flowing.

Outcome

I am happy with how my mixtape came out.  I had already attempted it once but after some reflection I wasn’t pleased with my first effort so I scrapped it and started again.  I felt that the first mixtape didn’t flow as well as I pictured it in my head.  This was a good learning curve though as it taught me to listen more instead of simply assuming it will just fit.  The second time I was able to collect a good selection of songs that all, at some point, have influenced my song writing.  This is the first time I have ever done anything like this but I found it very rewarding and may try doing more in the future.

Here it is:

 

Track Listing

01: Colour Haze – Tempel

Album – Tempel  Label: Elektrohasch

02: Brant Bjork – Porto

Album – Gods & Goddesses  Label: Low Desert Punk

03: Stoned Jesus – Bright Like The Morning

Album – Seven Thunders Roar  Label: Moon Records

04: Birth of Joy – Devil’s Paradise

Album – Life in Babalou  Label: Suburban Records

05: Ben Hughes – 33

Album: Crow Valley (in progress)   Label:  Unreleased – my original piece

06: Scott Jones – Biomechanoid Dirty Beastz 2

Album – Risk Assessment  Label: Unreleased – late friend’s home made CD

07: Weird Owl – White Hidden Fire

Album – Nuclear Psychology.  Label: none – self released

08: The Myrrors – Warpainting

Album – Burning Circles In the Sky   Label: Strange Design Records

Leave a Reply

